Skip navigation

This problem relates to the use of texter on vista systems. So after three weeks of pulling my hair out shouting at Vista, banning the keyboard, trying to fix, trying to live with just trying not to put the computer through the window. Finally today I have solved the problem.

The problem:- The keyboard was not functioning correctly on my vista system, shortcuts (hotkeys) did not work, some keys did not work, life was hell!

The cause of the problem:- texter (great little free application that I discovered on lifehacker) http://lifehacker.com/software/texter/lifehacker-code-texter-windows-238306.php

The solution:- Uninstall texter. Now to do this you will need to delete the texter folder in c:\programs. But before you delete the texter folder make sure the program is not active.

6 Comments

  1. I had a similar problem with vista, I know how you feel. Mine was a driver issue in the end.

  2. Hi,
    I had so much problems with this texter in Vista and now in Windows 7. It took me so long to discover that the culprit for all troubles is this tiny program. It was ment to be helpful and the idea is very good, but it causes so much troubles. I am going to delete anything related to texter.

  3. I can’t believe its been texter this whole time. I feel like I’ve been defrauded. Been having these and more problems for literally months..

  4. Morons, 3rd party apps would have been the first thing i checked…

  5. Texter works great in XP. Pity it won’t work in the other OSs. Hopefully someone will come up with a free app to do the same.

  6. I found out that Texter was causing my Windows 7 machine to periodically lose basic ‘drag and drop’ capability in addtion to losing hotkey functionality. Too bad, I really liked that program…but all of that frustration is finally gone. (It took me about 2 years before I ran across some mention that texter could be the culprit!)


Leave a Reply

